Skip to content

The Auditor General’s role in the democratic system

Appointed under Alberta’s Auditor General Act, the Auditor General is the legislated auditor of every provincial ministry, department, and most provincial agencies, boards, commissions, and regulated funds. The audits conducted by the Office of the Auditor General report on how government is managing its responsibilities and the province’s resources. Through our audit reports, we provide independent assurance to the 87 Members of the Legislative Assembly of Alberta, and the people of Alberta, that public money is properly accounted for and provides value. 

Alberta appointed its first provincial auditor in 1905. The role was to complete the examination of public records on behalf of the government. It wasn’t until the establishment of the Auditor General Act in 1978 that our office became independent of government and began reporting to all members of the Legislative Assembly. The Act also broadened our mandate to audit every provincial ministry, department, regulated fund, and most agencies, boards and commissions, and expanded our scope to look at economy, efficiency and effectiveness.  

Since 1905, 11 individuals have served as the provincial auditor or auditor general:

  • W. Doug Wylie FCPA, FCMA, ICD.D, Auditor General, 2018-Present
  • Merwan N. Saher FCPA, FCA, Auditor General, 2010-2018
  • Frederick James Dunn FCA, ICD.D, Auditor General, 2002-2010
  • C. Peter Valentine FCA, Auditor General, 1995-2002
  • Andrew J.K. Wingate CA, Acting Auditor General, 1994-1995
  • Donald D. Salmon FCA, Auditor General, 1986-1994
  • Douglas W. (Bill) Rogers FCA, Provincial Auditor/Auditor General, 1972-1986
  • C. Keith Huckvale FCA, Provincial Auditor, 1942-1972
  • Charles M. Lang CA, Provincial Auditor, 1935-1941
  • James C. Thompson CA, Provincial Auditor, 1923-1934
  • E.W. Burley Provincial Auditor, 1905-1922