Skip to content

When offices handle public money “there must of necessity be another office that examines and audits them.” – Aristotle 350 BC


  • Treasury Department Act appoints Provincial Auditor
  • Role was to complete the examination of public accounts


  • Auditor General Act establishes Office of Auditor General
  • Independent office of the Legislative Assembly
  • Report to the all MLAs; not the government
  • Mandate to audit every provincial ministry, department, regulated fund and most agencies, boards and commissions
  • Broadened audit scope to look at economy, efficiency, effectiveness

Since 1905, 11 individuals have served as the provincial auditor or auditor general:

  • Mr. W. Doug Wylie FCPA, FCMA, ICD.D, Auditor General, 2018-Present
  • Mr. Merwan N. Saher FCPA, FCA, Auditor General, 2010-2018
  • Mr. Frederick James Dunn FCA, ICD.D, Auditor General, 2002-2010
  • Mr. C. Peter Valentine FCA, Auditor General, 1995-2002
  • Mr. Andrew J.K. Wingate CA, Acting Auditor General, 1994-1995
  • Mr. Donald D. Salmon FCA, Auditor General, 1986-1994
  • Mr. Douglas W. (Bill) Rogers FCA, Provincial Auditor/Auditor General, 1972-1986
  • Mr. C. Keith Huckvale FCA, Provincial Auditor, 1942-1972
  • Mr. Charles M. Lang CA, Provincial Auditor, 1935-1941
  • Mr. James C. Thompson CA, Provincial Auditor, 1923-1934
  • Mr. E.W. Burley Provincial Auditor, 1905-1922